protective styles

HOW TO BRAID 4C HAIR |Rubber band method

Hi there,

“Is the rubber band method really safe and tension free? Want to know what i think? Read on!”

I have been wearing my hair in wigs all year long so I decided to give wigs a break and go for a proper protective style, I was indecisive about what I wanted to do to my hair but I definitely didn’t want to install crochet braids.

Wig making, long twist braid, braid wig
Need a wig? Let me hook you up. Contact – skinnybrownie1@gmail.com or 08083831529

Because my edges are very fragile and tends to break easily the options are limited , I finally decided to install box braids using the rubber band method. I chose to try the rubber band method because I watched so many tutorials on YouTube and it seemed to be the safest way to install box braids as it helps control the tension on the scalp. (the method is also great for beginners who don’t know how to grip the hair from the roots properly).

My hair was sectioned into five parts, each section was further divided into ten and rubber banded at the base/root. I made sure the hair wasn’t too tight because if tight, it defeats the purpose of tension free hair.

Peep the rubber bands

The rubber band might peek out if the hair is not braided right, if you try this method, make sure to wrap up the rubber band in the attachment before you start braiding so as to keep it hidden.

THe rubber band has been wrapped up so it’s not visible

I also made sure that my sparse fragile edges wasn’t braided at all.

Peep my baby hairs šŸ™ˆ

I always like curls on my hair so I put on some perm rods at the tip of the hair and dipped it in hot water.

I am totally enjoying this hair, its the first time in my life that I have been able to sleep properly from day one after braiding my hair.

My verdict however on the rubber band method is that it’s still painful on the scalp (although it’s very slight pain) because the hair is still being manipulated.

I won’t be trying this method again though because it’s more tension on my scalp compared to when I install crochet braids. I used one and a half pack of darling super star attachment in color ’29’ with a total of fifty braids on my hair,That’s all for now I guess.

Do let me know what you think in the comment section. What’s your go to protective style? Would /have you tried the rubber band method before? Do you consider the health of your hair before making a protective Style?

Click the link to follow me on instagram and Facebook.

Till next time, stay safešŸ˜˜

šŸ’–skinnybrownie šŸ’–

2 thoughts on “HOW TO BRAID 4C HAIR |Rubber band method

  1. Iā€™ve never tried this method, my protective styling is usually just putting my hair in twists until ready to take down and rock a twist out or braid out. Though you say it was not a lot of tension it did turn out really nice, I really love the look with it in a ponytail. Beautifulā¤ļø

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

