DIY · wig making

DIY : HOW I MADE MY BRAID WIG |LATCH HOOK METHOD 

I finally made myself a braid wig and yassssss! I am so proud of myself and enjoying(more like slaying) the result of my handwork 😁. This is not an in depth tutorial, I will be sharing a few tips /methods on how to make yours and the materials that I used.

Materials used – 

  • Dome cap 
  • Tulle lace
  • Crochet Latch hook 
  • Braiding hair 
  • Elastic 

First off I sewed a piece of lace (tulle) on the part of my dome cap where I want my closure to be,after sewing down I used a scissors to cut out the dome cap material beneath the lace.

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com A regular adjustable wig cap can also be used to make yourself a braid wig,however it won’t work if you are using a Latch hook because it’s going to destroy the net,.The Latch hook method is just one of the different techniques you can use to make your braid wig, a needle and thread can also be used. To be honest I tried the needle and thread method but it just didn’t work for me, the hair kept falling off after I attached it to the dome cap,My stitches were loose and untidy too. In the picture below I tried to show the method I used to stitch.

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
Making sure that the ends of the thread was tied, I passed the needle through the loop of my pre-twisted hair and proceeded to stitching.
How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
I used colored thread for clarity.

I don’t think I would have been able to finish making the wig without a Latch hook, the needle and thread really frustrated me:'(. I used a micro crochet hook to crochet strands of hair on to the dome cap. 

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
Micro crochet Latch hook

After crocheting a few strands of hair to the dome cap I take a bit more hair and knot it to the dome cap with the hair that has already been crocheted, after knotting I begin to twist all the way down. I hope the picture below shows more clarity. 

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
The Latch hook method is very easy, it’s the same technique used in crocheting your own hair. 

 

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
You can proceed to braiding without knotting the hair, using the hair that was crocheted in as the foundation, kind of like braiding your own hair from the root. 
How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
I always knot before braiding /twisting

I prefer the Latch hook method because the hair is secure and has no chances of falling off. 

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
Very secure.

The lace I used is quite fragile,I had to add another layer beneath as it was beginning to rip. I suggest using a more sturdy net if you aren’t working with a ventilated lace closure. The net was also a bit too light so I just applied my foundation to the parting so it would look realistic. 

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
After applying the foundation

I sewed an elastic band to the wig so it’s secure and doesn’t move around on my head.  

   Note that –  

  • Making a braid wig is time consuming, that’s why they are quite expensive, if you are making one for yourself just take your time and go according to your pace. 
  • I used five packs of kinky hair (naomi boom). You don’t have to use that much and you can use any type or brand of braiding hair. My wig is quite full which gives me the option of styling as I please. 
  • Working with kinky hair requires a whole lot more trimming, the hair also tends to frizz but it lasts longer. 
  • A regular sized crochet hook will poke visible/big holes on your dome cap. Use a micro crochet hook instead, I got mine at trade fair market. 
  • A swim cap can be used in place of a dome cap. Wig combs can also be sewn in along with the elastic band. 
  • I  have a post on different wig caps and their pro’s and cons, please read it

I can only take a few orders for now and it’s available only on pre-order. To order  contact via  –  skinnybrownie1@gmail.com, instagram – @skinnybrownie1,  whatsapp – 08083831529. 

 I hope you found this post helpful if you did please share with your friends and family so they can benefit/learn too. 
If you have any questions please ask in the comment section and I will be sure to answer them, would you make a braid wig yourself?

Don’t forget to follow my social media handles,I will be sharing a video on how to style braided wigs on instagram soon. 

How to make a braid wig, Latch hook method braid wig, braid wig!, kinky twist, braid wig tutorial, braid wig pictorial, diy braided wig, dome cap, tullelace, crochethook, naturalnigerian, naijanatural, klsnaturals, thekinkandi, naturally curly, curly nikki, protective style, protective styling with wigs, order affordable braid wig, skinnybrownie1site.wordpress.com
A video for this look will be on instagram soon

Facebookinstagram 




16 thoughts on “DIY : HOW I MADE MY BRAID WIG |LATCH HOOK METHOD 

Leave a Reply

