DIY · Hair care

DIY : BLACK SOAP SHAMPOO 

​Hi there, looking for an alternative to your store bought shampoo which strips your hair ? African black soap (dudu osun) is what you need.my hair totally loves black soap and it’s also very affordable. It’s an holy grail for my hair. I talked about the benefits and numerous uses of black soap in this post

Here am just going to be sharing with you all how I make my black soap shampoo in a few steps.

             Shampoo ingredients  – 

Black soap 

Water

Glycerin (optional) 

Olive oil (optional) 

Peppermint essential oil (optional) 

Lemon grass (optional) 

To start with I like to infuse fresh lemon grass leaves in to the water I use for dissolving the black soap, I do this simply by putting the leaves in to boil with my desired amount of water. I then take out the leaves and proceed to making the shampoo. 

Lemon grass leaves, lemon grass benefits, blackhairstyles, black soap shampoo, skinnybrownie, African black soap, dudu osun
Lemon grass infused water.

-Lemon grass strengthens  the hair follicles, which helps to prevent hair loss. It is also an antibacterial so it keeps the scalp in good condition for hair growth. 

Pure black soap, African black soap, blackhairstyles, black soap shampoo, natural hair, lagos blogger,
Pure black soap

Next step is to pour the black soap(I used 1/3 cup)into the water while it’s still hot and allow it to dissolve. 

When it is  completely melted I add Glycerin, olive oil and Peppermint essential oil. I pour it into a plastic bottle and it’s ready to be used. 

Black soap shampoo

– Glycerin is an humectant and it traps moisture to the hair. Honey can also be used in place of Glycerin as it is also an humectant. 

– Olive oil  adds moisture to the hair thereby leading to extra softness. It protects keratin in the hair and seals moisture. 

– Peppermint  essential oil is great for promoting hair growth. It is an antiseptic, so it kills bacteria on the scalp and provides a healthy environment for hair to grow. peppermint stimulates circulation on the scalp, which stimulates hair follicles, therefore promoting hair growth.

I really love using this shampoo it leaves my hair feeling soft and tangle free, a little goes a long way because it lathers a lot. I don’t even co-wash anymore,because its (black soap) more/less a conditioner that lathers. 

I hope you found this helpful, do you use black soap on your hair.? Please leave me a comment. 

13 thoughts on “DIY : BLACK SOAP SHAMPOO 

      1. A black soap scrub is black soap that has the added quality of exfoliating your skin and scalp too. Try it after you take your braids out in place of your clarifying shampoo. It’s awesome.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Can’t say I know. My friend makes it. Her BlackBerry channel number is C002B7A07 and her number is 08166243282. Her name is Stephanie.

        Like

Leave a Reply

