protective styles

Crochet braids : How to install Bob braids by yourself

IMG_20151224_025636_400
Crochet Bob Box Braid

Hi loves,compliments of the season.. So this post is long overdue, i finally made the PS that I long throat for and I did it all by myself. 🙌💪.

Let me just say this – crochet braid is a form of protective style that is installed with a Latch hook needle.

Items used –

Scissors

Braiding hair

Crochet needle

Yarn(optional)

Lighter(optional)

IMG_20151205_094201

I wrapped the yarn around a chair a few to and knotted., the yarn served as the platform for braiding.

IMG_20151205_104324

I cut the braiding hair to my desired length and began braiding making sure to braid as taut as possible.

METHOD one of braiding – twist hair twice, section hair in three parts and braid as usual.

PhotoGrid_1450355706390

METHOD two of braiding – section hair in two(3/4 and 1/4 respectively )twist the 3/4 part twice and attach the 1/4 section, making it the third leg,i hope I haven’t confused you.. This pictorial explains better.

PhotoGrid_1450355614395

As long as the hair is tightly braided it curves naturally.. You could leave as it is, i decided to burn mine.

After braiding all of the attachment I cornrowed my hair in a simple all back pattern.

PhotoGrid_1450353885786

THE INSTALL –

The twisted part of the braid serves as a loop which makes it easy to insert the hair.

IMG_20151217_144440

Insert the Latch hook underneath the cornrow, open the Latch hook, put in the braided hair and close the Latch hook.

PhotoGrid_1450916534075

Pull the Latch hook out in the same direction as inserting it, put the braid through the loop and that’s all. ☺keep doing this till all of your hair is covered.

PhotoGrid_1450916969265

I made the mistake of cutting the attachment for the back of my hair too long, although it looks stylish like i planned it to look layered. 😉

PhotoGrid_1450922489162

Also my cornrow pattern was wrong ,I should have braided my hair in a zig zag pattern instead of all back.

I hope this was helpful, if you don’t have a Latch hook but still want to try this style, here is a tutorial on how to do so with a Bobby pin.

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a happy new year in advance, be safe, show love and remember Jesus is the reason for the season.. 😘

IMG_20151224_025854_378
The finished look. 😍
6 thoughts on “Crochet braids : How to install Bob braids by yourself

    1. I think i cut the back into 4..I don’t remember. The back needs to be way shorter than the front… Cutting the back into five would also work.. You can cut the attachment for the front into 3 or 4 parts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

